Municipality of Fažana

Pursuant to the decision of the Croatian Parliament, Fažana became an independent unity of local self-government and on June 16, 2001 the Constituent Assembly of the municipal council of the Municipality of Fažana was held.

The Municipality of Fažana lies in the south-western part of the Istrian Peninsula, bordering with the towns Vodnjan and Pula, and covers the whole cadastral Municipality of Fažana and a small part of the cadastral Municipality of Štinjan. The Municipality of Fažana spreads over an area of 13.86 km2 , with a total population of 3,635 according to the 2011 census.
Since 2004 it consists of two statistical areas, Fažana and Valbandon, with two separate settlements: Stancija Barbo and Šurida.

The most important economic activities are tourism, wine and olive growing, fishing and other accompanying activities. The Municipality has facilities and institutions that ensure its residents a high quality of life and offer a unique experience for all our tourists and visitors.

Skip to content