Visa regulations and different legal provisions

Travel documentation
On December 8, 2022, the member states of the European Union (EU) unanimously approved Croatia’s entry into Schengen from January 1, 2023.
The Schengen area allows more than 400 million people to travel freely between member countries without going through border controls.
The entry of Istria/Croatia into the Schengen area means the abolition of border controls between Croatia and the 22 member states of the European Union as well as four countries outside the EU: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

From January 1, 2023, travel within the Schengen member states will be carried out without border control at land and sea crossings, while controls at airports will be carried out until March 26, 2023.

Entering Croatia from countries that do not belong to the Schengen area is possible upon presentation of an identity card, a valid passport or a valid visa.
Tourists may remain in Croatia for up to three months.

Generally, citizens of European countries, regardless of whether their countries are Member States of the EU or not, do not need a visa to come to Croatia. The only exceptions to this rule are the Russian Federation, Belarus and the Republic of Turkey. Citizens of most non-European countries will probably need to obtain a visa pursuant to the agreements concluded between Croatia and their country.
Further information about the visa regime between the Republic of Croatia and all other countries is available at:
Visa requirements overview

The Customs regulations of the Republic of Croatian are in line with the regulations of the European Union.
When entering Croatia, passengers and visitors are entitled to bring in personal baggage, including foods, drugs, weapons and other goods in accordance with that prescribed by the customs regulations.
Detailed instructions and information about carrying certain objects, plants, animals into Croatia can be found on the Ministry of Customs and Finance Administration’s website:

When you check in a hotel, hostel, campsite or an apartment, you will automatically be registered in the eVisitor system, a matter required by law.

Skip to content